Don’t Punk Out

Last Saturday and for the first time, I read aloud two of my poems at a poetry reading my university put on. To say the least, I was scared.

Let me set the stage for you. It was a pretty average room, podium in the front, dotting the floors were round tables circled with chairs. Sitting in those chairs were at least five faculty from the writing department. So, this is reason enough to be scared, right? Plus, I’m not a writing major, meaning they didn’t know who I was, nor what I was capable of. Maybe this would ease some people’s mind but that wasn’t the case for me.

Also, I had just started writing poetry during the Summer and little thoughts kept asking me if I was even good enough. Of course, I questioned whether I should actually go up there and read. But quickly, somewhat quickly ;), I shoved that idea to the side, because that poetry reading would be the last of the semester. It was either now or wait a month or two until the next one, and I couldn’t punk out and not read like I did at the last meeting. (Honestly, I regretted not reading that first time.)

So, I put on my big girl boots, said a scripture or two about courage, and went up there and read. And when I did, there was an inexplicable joy after reading. I was proud of myself for not backing down, and I got the experience of reading what I put my heart into to others.

What I am trying to get at…is that no matter how scared you are of doing something; whether that is reading aloud your poetry for the first time, writing poetry or that novel that’s been pestering you, joining something new, or just trying something new, do not be afraid of it. You never know what joy could come from that experience, and you may regret not doing it (which is no way to live).

Aim to surpass your fear, not subcummb to it.

Here are two scriptures that always bring me out of fear and into the hands of the God who controls it all.

Philippians 4:13; For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength

Isaiah 41:10; Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.

 

Leave a Reply

